My name is Andrea, I am married to Wayne and have two daughters  aged 23 and 17 years old. 

I have a playroom, large gardens and its very own private woodland and stream. I'm a great believer in outdoor play with natural resources

 

I qualified as an NNEB nursery nurse in 1988 and worked as a Nursery manager until having my eldest daughter in 1996 when I decided to become a childminder working from home, I am also a member of DCATCH. (Disabled Children Access To Childcare)

As well as providing for children’s basic needs for food, drink, rest and comfort I plan activities to give children the opportunity to develop, whatever their age, gender, race, language or ability.

I believe children learn best through play and I hope to enable them to develop both emotionally and socially, learn language, literacy and basic numeric skills and also develop both physically and creatively.

Children develop at different rates so I will try to make activities appropriate to ability and age. Any routines established will be driven by the children’s needs and will be flexible to allow for spontaneity. I want the children I care for to feel secure, not pushed or pressured, and to have the confidence to deal with whatever life brings.

 

Where will they spend their time?

The areas of my home available to children are as follows: Large kitchen, Playroom, Bathroom, Large garden with sand and water area, and private woodland and stream I use all the local facilities in Simmondley, Glossop and Hadfield such as the playgrounds, library, toddler group, playing fields, nature trail, local walks, park and local shops. I also attend the preschool activities provided by the local church

© 2019 Andreas Little Acorns